A monolithic semiconductor substrate

Chip Design Journal

Subscribe to Chip Design Journal: eMailAlertsEmail Alerts newslettersWeekly Newsletters
Get Chip Design Journal: homepageHomepage mobileMobile rssRSS facebookFacebook twitterTwitter linkedinLinkedIn

Chip Design Authors: Jnan Dash, Jason Bloomberg, Trevor Bradley, David Strom

Related Topics: Intel Virtualization Journal, Intel SOA Journal, Datacenter Automation, Chip Design

News Feed Item

Design Automation Conference Announces Winners of 2009 DAC/ISSCC Student Design Contest

The 46th Design Automation Conference (DAC), the electronic design automation (EDA) industry’s premier event, today announced the winners of the annual DAC/ISSCC Student Design Contest. The awards will be presented today at 5 p.m. in the DAC Pavilion (Booth #1928) on the exhibit floor. Each winning team will receive a $2,000 cash award, courtesy of DAC, the International Solid-State Circuits Conference, and other contest sponsors. The winning submissions will be displayed as posters at the DAC University Booth (Booth #1828), also on the exhibit floor. The 46th DAC is being held this week at the Moscone Center in San Francisco.

The nine winning teams were selected from more than 60 entries in three categories: operational chip design, for an IC design which was built and tested; system design, for FPGA or other programmable architectures; and conceptual design, in which a project was designed and simulated, but not necessarily implemented. The 2009 Student Design Contest co-chairs are Bill Bowhill, senior principal engineer, Intel Massachusetts, and Byunghoo Jung, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, Purdue University.

2009 DAC/ISSCC Student Design Contest Winners



Smart Memories Polymorphic Chip Multiprocessor

Ofer Shacham, Zain Asgar, Han Chen, Amin Firoozshahian, Rehan Hameed, Christos Kozyrakis, Wajahat Qadeer, Stephen Richardson, Alexandre Solomatnikov, Don Stark, Megan Wachs, Mark Horowitz – Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif.



Large-Scale SRAM Variability Characterization Chip in 45nm CMOS

Zheng Guo, Andrew Carlson, Liang-Teck Pang, Kenneth Duong, Tsu-Jae King Liu, Borivoje Nikolic – University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, Calif.



A 600MS/s 30mW 0.13μm CMOS ADC Array Achieving over 60dB SFDR with Adaptive Digital Equalization

Wenbo Liu, Yun Chiu – University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Ill.



A 212MPixels/s 4096x2160p Multiview Video Encoder Chip for 3D/Quad HDTV Applications

Li-Fu Ding, Wei-Yin Chen, Pei-Kuei Tsung, Tzu-Der Chuang, Pai-Heng Hsiao, Yu-Han Chen, Shao-Yi Chien, Liang-Gee Chen – National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan



A Fully-Automated Process Characterization Macro for Gate Dielectric Breakdown

John Keane, Shrinivas Venkatraman, Chris H. Kim – University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minn.

Paulo F. Butzen – University Estadual do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brazil



A Heterogeneous MPSOC with Hardware Supported Dynamic Task Scheduling for Software Defined Radio

Torsten Limberg, Markus Winter, Marcel Bimberg, Reimund Klemm, Marcos Tavares, Holger Eisenreich, Georg Ellguth, Jens-Uwe Schlüßler, Emil Matus, Gerhard Fettweis – Technical University Dresden, Dresden, Germany

Hendrik Ahlendorf – ZMD AG, Dresden, Germany



An Ultrasensitive CMOS Magnetic Biosensor Array for Point-Of-Care (POC) Microarray Application

Hua Wang, Ali Hajimiri – California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, Calif.



Phoenix: An Ultra-Low Power Processor for Cubic Millimeter Sensor Systems

Mingoo Seok, Scott Hanson, Yu-Shiang Lin, Zhiyoong Foo, Daeyeon Kim, Yoonmyung Lee, Nurrachman Liu, Dennis Sylvester, David Blaauw – University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich.



A 1.2V 26mW Configurable Multiuser Mobile MIMO-OFDM/-OFDMA Baseband Processor

Jung-Mao Lin, Hsin-Yi Yu, Yu-Jen Wu, Hsi-Pin Ma – National Tsing-Hua University, Hsinchu, Taiwan

Industry and Corporate Dedication to Continued Education

The Student Design Contest was founded by the University of Utah’s Kent Smith in 1981 and has been managed by DAC since 2000. In 2002, DAC partnered with ISSCC to jointly promote and manage the contest. Each year, the successful tradition of the Student Design Contest is made possible by a group of engineering community and corporate sponsors. In addition to DAC and ISSCC, the contest is sponsored by Cadence Design Systems, Inc., Mentor Graphics Corp., the Semiconductor Research Corporation and Synopsys, Inc., as well as the Special Interest Group on Design Automation of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM SIGDA) and the Council on Electronic Design Automation of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE CEDA).

Contest Criteria

To be eligible, a design must be part of the students’ course or research work at a university and must have been completed within the 18 months prior to the submission deadline. Full-time graduate and undergraduate students interested in the 2010 Student Design Contest should visit the DAC Web site for the call for entries. Past winner and more details are available online.


Access to the DAC/ISSCC Student Design Contest Awards Presentation is included with Free Monday registration. For more information, and to register for Free Monday, Exhibits-Only or Full Conference attendance at DAC, visit www.dac.com or go directly to https://reg.mpassociates.com/reglive/register.aspx?confid=95. All DAC registration options, including Free Monday, will also be available onsite.

About DAC

The Design Automation Conference (DAC) is recognized as the premier event for the design of electronic circuits and systems, and for Electronic Design Automation (EDA) and silicon solutions. A diverse worldwide community representing more than 1,000 organizations attends each year, from system designers and architects, logic and circuit designers, validation engineers, CAD managers, senior managers and executives to researchers and academicians from leading universities. Close to 60 technical sessions selected by a committee of electronic design experts offer information on recent developments and trends, management practices and new products, methodologies and technologies. A highlight of DAC is its Exhibition and Suite area with approximately 200 of the leading and emerging EDA, silicon, IP and design services providers. The conference is sponsored by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the Electronic Design Automation Consortium (EDA Consortium), and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and is supported by ACM’s Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SIGDA) and IEEE’s Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA), Circuits and Systems Society (CASS), and Computer-Aided Network Design (CANDE) Committee. More details are available at: www.dac.com.

Design Automation Conference acknowledges trademarks or registered trademarks of other organizations for their respective products and services.

More Stories By Business Wire

Copyright © 2009 Business Wire. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Business Wire content is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Business Wire. Business Wire shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.